WEB EXCLUSIVE: Lancashire boxer Kurt Grieve set to make a comeback in Blackpool

Kurt Grieve 2

Boxing prospect, Kurt Grieve (6-0-1) is prepared to unleash fury on his comeback after a long layoff from the ring.

The 33-year-old last fought back in February 2015 when he outpointed Chris Jenkinson (9-42-3) in eight rounds.

Referee John Latham scored it 77-75 in his favour.

A few months after the win, the Lancashire-based athlete suffered an injury during training camp and was forced to take time out to recover.

“Months after that win [against Jenkinson], we were scheduled to fight another person but whilst in training camp I hurt my back in the spinal area and was forced call off the fight,” said Grieve.

“It was kind of sad because I was starting to produce my best in all my fights but when you’re badly in training then what can you do.”

Whilst being away from the ring, Grieve has settled down got married and welcomed a daughter to the world.

Two and a half years out of the ring, Grieve has added incentive to win when he returns.

He says: “Getting married made me happy and when my baby daughter came into this world, I had to provide and be the best dad and husband I can be.

“I realised that I needed to come back to boxing and continue from where I left off for them.”

Grieve got in touch with promoter Neil Marsh and has been scheduled to fight on his roster.

Kurt Grieve

The bout will be taking place on April 15 at the Hilton Hotel in Blackpool with an opponent yet to be confirmed.

Grieve has prepared well for prepared for his upcoming bout, he stated:

“Training has been good and I’ve settled down from my mistakes and was able to rework them.

“I’m more prepared and I plan to go in [on fight night] with a smart game plan.”

Leave a Reply

