WEB EXCLUSIVE: Preston North End’s Aiden McGeady Wins Player of the Month

Aiden McGeady has won the SkyBet Championship Player of the Month after a string of fine performances for Preston in February.

The on-loan Everton winger scored three goals and assisted four in five matches over the course of the month.

Speaking of the award, the 86-time Ireland international was pleased that his performances had helped the Lilywhites put an impressive run together as they look to finish in the Play-Offs this campaign.

“Obviously, it’s a great honour to be recognised for your form I suppose, but personal accolades are a bonus,” McGeady said.

The main thing is that the team is doing well.

“We’ve had a good season so far and the Play-Offs are in sight, now we’ll just keep and playing and keep trying to do what we’ve been doing all season, and see where we end up finishing.

“The award is high praise really and being recognised for your performances is great but, the old cliché of the main thing is that the team is doing well.”

After a few seasons in the wilderness at Everton, where the forward made just 14 starts in a season-and-a-half, McGeady has been revitalised this season.

PNE manager Simon Grayson has given the Irishman the freedom to express himself on the pitch.

McGeady said: “I am enjoying it, yeah.

“I’m just enjoying playing football because I went so long without really having an extended run in any team, so yeah I’m enjoying it.

“I’m not a natural goalscorer but I like to chip in, like when I was at Celtic, when I was in Russia, I’d get my fair share of goals from midfield.”

The Lilywhites have reaped the rewards since capturing McGeady’s signature in the summer on a season long loan deal and look set to comfortably finish in the top half of the table.

McGeady is glad that the club’s performances are finally being recognised, saying: “I’ve had a lot of people say to me as well, ‘Preston are doing well this season’, whereas before, earlier on in the season, people were saying to me ‘where are Preston in the league?’

“I saw a stat the other day; lost four in 26 games or something like that, so we are quietly creeping our way up the league.”

Leave a Reply

