WEB EXCLUSIVE: Qasim Niaz prepared for upcoming bout at the Guild Hall

QASIM NIAZ

Qasim Niaz preparing for his fight. Courtesy of Qasim Niaz

BLACKBURN boxer Qasim Niaz (9-0) has vowed to make 2017 his year to shine and wants to come-back strong following a long injury layoff.

The fighter, who has been battling a shoulder injury, has been inside the ring just twice in the last two years.

His last fight in autumn 2016, which was six-round long, resulted in a points victory.

He outpointed Ferenc Katona (6-1) in six rounds.

The 25-year-old has since then been away from the ring and unable to find fights which has increased his motivation to get his career back on track.

“It had been really difficult to find fights because of the issues I had been facing in my personal life, my injury was awful,” said Niaz.

“It took a wild effect on my career and I am determined to put this behind me and get back on track.”

Niaz’s career has been blighted by injury and he feels his ambition has been stunted by his lack of fights.

In 2015, he suffered an injury to his right hand that kept him out for a year.

Niaz wants to make up for lost time and feels 2017 will the year for him as he looks to be crowned British champion by the end of the year.

He stated: “Having already ups and downs in my career so far, I’m definitely hungrier now than I ever was.

“I’ve got a lot planned for this year and one of the main things that I have planned is to stay active and have plenty of fights before I can fight for the British Boxing Board of Control belt. That I plan to gain before the end of this year.”

His fight record stands at nine wins and no defeats, and Niaz aims to extend that run to ten.

“There will be a different me on fight night. I’m all ready for action and I’m going to get that knockout,” Niaz said.

His next bout will be taking place at the Guild Hall arena in Preston on March 11th 2017.

Leave a Reply

