WEB EXCLUSIVE: Daz Latham takes Wilfrids Darts honours for third time


Pictured: Tournament winners Daz Latham and Ged Fielding.

Daz Latham won a third Wilfrids Panel Darts title in 4 years on Friday night, as he demolished Longridge’s own Andy Cornwall 4-0 in the grand final.

St Wilfrid’s Members Club in Longridge was holding the 10th anniversary of their annual ‘Panel Darts’ tournament this year, which features eight qualifying weeks for the men’s side of the tournament, with two earning their place each week into the last 16 on ‘finals night’, and has been won, in 2012, by current world ranked number six Dave Chisnall.

The women’s qualifying section took place over four weeks, with eight booking their place into the quarter finals on finals night, and it was an all-Blackburn affair in the final, with Ged Fielding defeating Clare Wearden 3-2 to take the winning trophy, and prize money of £300.

The bigger names however were in the mens competition. It was headlined by Wez Newton, who was ranked number five in the world by the Professional Darts Corporation just five years ago, but the Fleetwood man succumbed in the quarter finals to Latham, who beat him 3-2.

A potential PDC versus BDO (British Darts Organisation) clash in the semi-finals was scuppered in the first match of the night, as Silsden’s Garry Thompson, two-time quarter finalist in the Lakeside BDO World Championship, was knocked out by Blackburn’s Dave Evans in the last 16.

Evans then defeated Stuart Wilson in the quarter finals, but was dispatched by Latham in the semi finals, despite going 2-0 up. Evans missed double 16 in the third leg to take the match, and Bury-based Latham subsequently took the next two sets, before checking out a huge 160 to seal his place in the final.

It was there he came up against the hometown darter Cornwall, who had seen off Oldham’s Joe Heywood, and the defending champion – Burnley’s Rob Rickwood – in previous rounds, before seeing off young Manchester challenger Callum Loose 3-1 in the semi final.

He was however no match for the 2014 and 2015 winner Latham, who demolished him in straight legs in the grand final, taking home the trophy for a third time, and also winning the big prize of £1,000.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s