WEB EXCLUSIVE: Tony Bellew Boxing Uncertainty

Boxing world champion, Tony Bellew (29-2-1) is uncertain as to whether or not he will be fighting on in his boxing career.

The Merseyside-based fighter was part of a spectacular showdown when he fought David Haye (28-3) at the O2 Arena on Saturday night.

Bellew, who was a huge underdog for the bout, shocked the whole world when he knocked out Haye after eleven rounds.

After the bout, Bellew gave full credit to the Hayemaker, who fought most of the battle in the end with an achilles injury.

“He hits very hard and is one of the strongest punches I’ve ever faced,” Bellew said.

“He talked a lot of nonsense and in the end he paid the full price.”

Having now beaten an elite heavyweight, Bellew has many opportunities of facing future elites with the likes of Hughie Fury, Deontay Wilder, Anthony Joshua and Joseph Parker – considering his win.

But at this moment, the cruiserweight ‘Bomber’ has not made any rational decision for his return to the ring.

He stated: “I can’ keep doing this to my body. It’s in a whole load of pain and agony. My right hand is like a purple pillow. I don’t know how much longer I can keep doing this.

However the 34-year-old has stated that the only thing that would make him to return to the ring would have to be “something big”.

“If I am going to carry on fighting then the offer that I’m going to get delivered would have to something big to drag me out of the pothole,” he said.

“I’ve got my wife and kids to look after, so I need to hit the big money with some hard persuasion to provide for them.”

Leave a Reply

